THE TRUTH ABOUT THE GUN LAWS
Do I need to submit fingerprints?
NO – You do not need to be fingerprinted prior to the purchase of a handgun. At the time of sale, all you have to do is give us a single thumb print to be kept on file at the store. It is not sent to the state and there is no additional charge for this. The thumb print protects you against Identity Theft. Many other industries are already performing this procedure, banks and department of motor vehicles.
Do I need to qualify with my new firearm?
NO – There is no qualification procedure. At the time of sale with no additional charge, you will be given a safety demonstration in the store and then you must repeat the process to us. This takes about 10 minutes.
Do I have to take a test to purchase a handgun?
Most customers will take a short 30 question true/false – multiple choice test.. The test is given at the store. The average test takes about 10 minutes and virtually everyone passes. You need only to score 23 of the 30 questions correct to pass. The fee for the test is $25.00. Study booklets are available at the store. There are some people exempt from taking this test. Those exemptions are as follows:
If I purchase a handgun, will I need to renew registration or qualify with it in the future?
NO – At this time, everything required by law is done in the store at the time of purchase and does not need to be repeated.
What is this about evidence of residency?
This applies to handguns only. All you need to do is provide a document such as an electricity bill, gas bill, cable bill, current car registration, etc. with your name & address on it less than 90 days old. This is to prove you are a resident of California. No big deal!
What about a gun-lock or safe?
For all firearms purchases, you must provide a California Approved gun lock certified for your firearm. Additionally, you must provide the receipt for the lock. The receipt must have the lock name and model. The receipt must be dated within the last 30 days. Many firearms manufacturers are providing California Approved locks with their firearms. If a firearm does not come with an approved lock, they are inexpensive and are available at the store. If you own a gun safe and it meets the state of California’s description of a gun safe or a California approved locking gun cabinet, and have the receipt for the cabinet, you are exempt from the lock purchase.
Is there a waiting period on firearms?
YES - There has been in effect, for many years, on both handguns and long-guns, it is a 10 day waiting period. This waiting period starts the day the Dealer Report of Sale (DROS) is transmitted to the state.
THIS INFORMATION HAS BEEN PROVIDED TO ATTEMPT TO ASSIST YOU IN UNDERSTANDING SOME OF CALIFORNIA’S FIREARMS REGULATIONS. THIS IS NOT INTENDED TO PROVIDE LEGAL COUNSEL NOR IS IT TO BE RELIED ON AS COMPREHENSIVE INTERPRETATION OF LOCAL, STATE OR FEDERAL LAWS. IF YOU NEED ADDITIONAL INFORMATION OR LEGAL TEXT REGARDING FIREARMS PURCHASES, PLEASE VISIT THE CALIFORNIA DEPARTMENT OF JUSTICE FIREARMS DIVISION AT: http://www.caag.state.ca.us/firearms/index.html OR THE BUREAU OF ALCOHOL, TOBACCO, FIREARMS AND EXPLOSIVES OR YOUR ATTORNEY.